Did you struggle learning to code?

I ask this question because sometimes I can get discouraged due to me not fully understanding a concept and it not sticking. I also worry because sometimes I feel overwhelmed by the complexity of some applications I see and don’t see how I’d manage to get to that expertise. I’m currently a computer science major, and I’m in my 2nd year of college and while I learned a tremendous amount of information, I’m still not comfortable with my abilities to develop an sustainable application or anything major for that matter.

Does everyone have these thoughts or is it just me?

It is definitely not just you. Even at my work where there are extremely capable engineers, there is a common experience of what we call “imposter syndrome” - a fear of everyone discovering that you are an imposter who does not belong.

The reality is that we all have things to learn. No one person fully understands a sufficiently complex system. You have to peel back the layers and grow your understanding.

It is cliche, but true: Rome was not built in a day. Systems grow in complexity over time and managing (and trying to reduce) that complexity is part of the job.

While learning you will have to encounter ideas several times before you start really getting the hang of it. Sometimes it will stick the first time, but expect to need a bit of repetition. Your mind is building connections you need to help reinforce what you are learning to and this can take time. Be patient with yourself and persevere. The one that completes his journey is the one who did not give up!

If it helps, look backwards to remember how much progress you have made. The first time you saw a “Hello World” program it was a strange and new thing. Now it seems so trivial. Take comfort in realizing that you have come farther than you probably realized.

3 Likes

Hi,
I deeply have that impostor syndrome myself.
Yet another part of me is opposed to that idea.
“If they did it, why not me?”