Pre-requisites for MVC/ .NET

Hey, I have a few years experience with c# in Unity, I figured my experience would transfer over to learning MVC pretty easily, and boy was I wrong. I was following Mosh’s course on MVC and I hit a brick wall pretty quickly. As soon as he got into the routing and regex stuff, and file stuff I was just stunned. The way he casually talks about it seems like its assumed that it’s a pre-requisite. So my question is two-fold - A.) I can’t find any Mosh courses that talk about Regex aside from the SQL one, so is that where the topic of Regex is brought up? B.) what are the pre-requisites before MVC? Should I have done SQL first? Should I also do datastructures first? I know a few algorithms and all the main datastructures from doing game dev for 3 years so I figured I didn’t need to do that.

Honestly, Mosh’s ASP.NET MVC course is outdated. There have been a lot of changes to make .NET development easier and making the development experience better since Mosh released his course. You will be much better off watching a more up-to-date tutorial or course from someone like IAmTimCorey on YouTube regarding ASP.NET.

thanks for the reply, the tim corey one however seems to be from 2017, even older than mosh’s

Hi,
What you mention is a trait of many highly skilled people. Because of their ease in their domain, that naturally speak of advanced topics casually. So on your end it may look like a prerequisite. Sometimes some of them go the “you should know that” which is neither exactly true nor constructive.
As of Mosh, I think he has a very good pedagogy and outdated courses are not a big deal. I see this as an occasion to do my own research.

I realize afterwards that my answer is for Web API which I am more used to but the link bellow still applies.
For MVC the difference is minimal. Actions take the name of corresponding views and you can use extra parameters to state which view to use if needs be.