Engineering vs coding

I am a trader getting into the algorithmic side of it all. And looking for more engineering resources. I have a decent grasp on coding logic to syntax in C++ but how do you get information from one spot to another. I know about API and some DTC protocol but need to learn how to get data from one spot to another and looking for information on how the pipeline of engineering works and having trouble finding recourses, as it mostly syntax logic. I understand how to code script to make me toast at time, how dark I want it, what kind of bread etc but how do I plug that into my toaster so to speak?

Any information would be appreciated

Is it about transferring data between classes or deploying an application?

It would help if you can specify what you want to happen in your code or your application.

I work mostly with financial data and math and use a data feed that uses a DTC protocol to get information in and out and then brokers who typically use API. I understand the logic of coding the algorithm to say buy google when the cash flow rate is at X amount and price is at a certain level and saying the S&P is doing something specific. The syntax of that script, I have a decent grasp on that but I am looking for how you actually get that information and how the script I code is communicating with say a data provider give me that information.

and not necessarily the exact how but more the learning logic of how coding actually becomes an actual application of what you have coded. There is a lot syntax logic but very little on how a thing actually becomes a real life functionality …like sure to your phone if you make and app. So you code an app…how it able to become a functionality to you phone…what the compiler doing relative to all the phones functionality. And so looking for more engineering learning resources over coding syntax logic.

Thanks for the response and taking the time!