1 year into my coding journey, where to go next?

Background:
I started Mosh’s front end development and have finished html/css, JS, TS, React, Git, and Docker. Then I went for backend, finished node and am working on SQL right now.
I’ve even started learning wordpress and how to design custom plugins / themes. The job market is crazy for a developer with no formal experience and I realize i might be a person it takes 2 years to get a job, and i’m okay with that it’s a journey not a sprint. I’m very happy with my progress so far.

I’ve built my own portfolio, have taken some small freelance gigs, tailored my resume and linkedin (continuous process). I’ve been applying for jobs for six months and have yet to really have even 1 coding interview (have had a few screening interviews) after probably over 100 applications for entry level jobs.

Expectations:
To get a full time coding job I need to stand out and to do that continue coding, building projects, and learning new skills. I plan to finish SQL, then do mosh’s data structures and design patterns, next js, and the unit testing courses too. I know I need to work on my own projects in-between so I have my own projects to showcase what I’ve learned and apply them so i don’t forget.

I code in the day, read coding books in the evening, lately I’ve gotten a lot out of Twitch of professional developers commenting on current trends and how to learn / stand out. I’m currently building a front end app for the node js course on my own, and a quote form for a client.

Advice:
I would like to hear the advice of any seasoned programmers I know there are no shortcuts, but based on my journey what might be some good considerations, things that worked for you, things to avoid, or general discussion regarding my progress.

2 Likes

Hi,
I read you are very ambitious and patient. These, for sure, will help you a lot in pursuing your goal.