How can I improve and get better if I'm struggling recreating excercies or projects given by course

Not sure what is the best way for me to learn in this course or coding in general. It makes me feel down that I can’t fully replicate a project or get what I had in mind when I understand somewhat what I’m supposed to do. Would like some feedback on what works for you or what ways I can learn more efficiently. I feel like I am grasping the concepts of each lesson, especially in part 1/2 of the lectures. However, when it comes to using that knowledge in exercises on my own I find that I’m able to only finish about halfway through or not complete it fully without trying to check the answer to see what went wrong for me. Any tips would be deeply appreciated.

I’m a new beginner to coding and this course is the first coding course I’ve taken. Not sure of resources and places where I can practice or get better other than this course and lectures. Currently in HTML/CSS P2.

1 Like

Edit: you posted this under the topic of HTML/CSS.

HTML and CSS are just markup/styling sheets, they aren’t real programming languages. Javascript is where the meat and potatoes are and that could be why you’re struggling right now. With CSS there is no logic, either you know what to write or you don’t. I recommend switching to his course on Javascript first because that’ll put HTML/CSS into context and may make it easier to learn.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

A great skill to learn is google-fu. There is no shame in googling your way to success and using someone else’s solution, great engineers do this all the time. Instead of going straight back to mosh’s video, I’d recommend two things: