Exercises in JavaScript Course Aren't Suitable for Learning from Scratch

Hello all,
I have recently took the plunge into decided I want to learn JavaScript, I have no prior programming experience or knowledge apart from Python basics.

So I purchased Mosh’s JavaScript course, and nearly at the end of the exercises on the ‘Control Flow’ section. Now, half of the exercises Mosh is asking his students to complete for him i think is far too complex considering one has only just learned loops, out of all the exercises videos I’ve watched thus far i’ve only been able to complete one by myself, the rest caused nothing but frustration and confusion, even more so when Mosh is relating these exercises to ‘simple’. I understand 90% of everything when he is explaining, but when it comes to me doing it myself when i’m asked to complete a task i struggle, even more so for the ‘for of’, ‘for in’ and ‘while’ loops. I’m now very hesitant to carry on the course as i dont want my brain to be more fried than it already is and push my ambitions to wanting to learn JavaScript to an end.

2 Likes

Do you have an example of an exercise which was “too difficult”? Also, have you tried going back to re-watch the lessons?

It is a little hard to be helpful here without more details on what the problem is. Are you saying that the exercises require more information than what Mosh had explained in the lessons? If so, it would be more helpful if you point out where he expects you to know something before he teaches that thing. Otherwise, I think the expectation is that you can go back and rewatch the lessons if you did not pick it up on the first pass. It is pretty common when learning something to need to hear it a few times before it sticks. Or if you are having trouble with a particular exercise, you can ask for help with that particular exercise.

1 Like

Hi there folks,

Similar experience of starting with Python then making the leap to JavaScript. . . .