Visual Studio Code - open with live server - works and doesn't

Hi There,

I have two html files, both identical apart from the titles and a couple of style variations on a video. Very basic. I’m like one hour into the course, total beginner.
So one will open with live server on Chrome while the other won’t. In theory they should both open.
I currently have port set to 0 because default port was having the same problem and I was following some advice via a google search. I have Live server extension installed, (uninstalled and re-installed) ,re-booted VS Code and all the typical checks. Still can’t figure it out.
I have a simple boiler plate copied and pasted as a starter.
I’ve tried creating new html documents and none of them will open with live server. It will only open the one html document like it’s stuck on it.
Im on Mac OSX 11.5.2 and installed the latest VS Code today which is working horribly for me.

Hi,

Welcome to the community @PhilWilkinson.
I never have to open 2 html files using the F5 keystroke.

My assumption before I ever tried is it is by design. So nothing isn’t problematic on your side. I meet the same behaviour.

As for why it happens, I believe it is simply because you are working into 1 IDE which have 1 debugger at a time.

You can still open both files manually in your browser.
Now I understand that for the sake of convenience, you’d like to be able to open both files in a browser.
I don’t have sufficient VS Code configuration knowledge to directly provide the answer but I did a quick search and there seem to be an Open in Browser extension for that.

Regards.

Hi thanks for the quick reply!
Actually it’s not about having two files open at the same time. The problem is even if I reboot VS the bad file still won’t open in live server even by itself, so I don’t have enough experience to know what that could be.