Typescript select query

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Node/Typescript and I am trying to create a simple query but I am having some issues on returning the result of my query.

Here’s my code:

app.get("/info", async (req: Request, res: Response) => {
     const obj = new UserService;
     const result = await obj.getUserbyEmail();
     res.json({
         "status" : status_code.success,
         "payload" : {
             response: result
         }
     });
 });

export default class UserService{
     async getUserbyEmail(){  
         const result = await dbconnect.query("SELECT * FROM users WHERE email = 'email@gmail.com'");
         return result;
     }
 }

I keep having an error.
(node:21380) UnhandledPromiseRejectionWarning: TypeError: Converting circular structure to JSON
→ starting at object with constructor ‘Query’

I would like to ask for some of your expert help.

Thank you!

So I am gathering that the object returned by dbconnect.query returns an object which cannot be represented in JSON since it has a circular reference. What sort of object might have a circular reference? In the most trivial case, this one:

class Oroboros {
  public Oroboros self;
  constructor() {
    this.self = this;
  }
}

Anything with a circular reference cannot be converted to JSON.

You did not give me enough information here to see what dbconnect.query is returning, but I am betting that what it returns has a circular reference so you may need to grab just part of that object to convert it to JSON… Also, please use code blocks to enclose code samples to make it easier to read (basically wrap them in three backticks: ```)

Thanks for your response. I am just returning a simple JSON with users information.

Sample

status 201
payload
response
userid 2
usertoken 54125960-bc47-450c-afb3-daab9d77d001
email email@gmail.com
first_name fname
is_active 1
last_name lastname
password password_field