Questions for the typescript course that is on the way🙏🥳

Hi Mosh,

I saw that there is a Typescript course on the way! :partying_face:

I have some questions and I wondered if you can refer them on your upcoming course:

1. When should I use Type and when should I prefer Class?
  2. Composition over Inheritance: How can I implement composition in Typescript?
    more specifically; does interfaces main purpose is to create composition?
  3. (If not for Question 2, then) Practical examples when should I use interface?

Is it possible to refer to these issues please?:pray::pray::pray:

1 Like

I am not an expert on TypeScript (just taking the course), but I believe the biggest difference between Type and Class is that Type does not allow you to have an implementation or default values (it just tells you the structure of the variable, nothing more). Also, classes can implement Interfaces (which I do not believe is possible with Types).

In practice, it looks like you should use a Type when you want a simple value class. For example:

type Point = {
  readonly x: number,
  readonly y: number,
}

Interfaces are perfect when you just want to declare the functions that a type should have:

interface Drawable {
  draw(): void
}

class Circle implements Drawable {
  draw(): void {
    // code that draws the circle
  }
}

Classes should be used whenever you need to share implementation (for example, you need all Circles to have the same draw() method as shown above).

As for the issue of Composition vs Inheritance, here is an example:

class Pushable {
  push(): void {
    // details omitted
  }
}

class InheritedPushable extends Pushable {
  // details omitted
}

class ComposedWithPushable {
  pushable: Pushable
  constructor(pushable: Pushable) {
    this.pushable = pushable;
  }
  // details omitted, but can use pushable.push() when needed
}