Organizing Functions in Files in VSC

Hello! I’m relatively new to learning C++ and coding in general. I use Visual Studio Code and am on the lesson about organizing functions in files, where you create a greet function header/hpp file and a greet cpp

To my notice, everything I’m aware of matches the lesson, but when I try to run it, I get the error pictured along with my main code function below:

(Please forgive poor phone photo. Wi-Fi is out atm. Can provide clearer screenshots when it’s back up)

Under greet.cpp, I have the following:

#include

using namespace std;

void greet(string name) {
cout << “Hello “ << name;
}

And for greet.hpp:

#ifndef UTILS_GREET
#define UTILS_GREET

#include

void greet(std::string name);

#endif

When I try to run and debug it, I get the following error:

launch: program ‘C:\Users\wfall\OneDrive\Documents\Coding Projects\Lessons\HelloWorld\main.exe’ does not exist

Followed by the options to open ‘launch .json’ or cancel.

I’ve never encountered this before :confused: any guidance would be greatly appreciated, as I want to make sure I know why what I can only assume will be an important feature isn’t working for me

Ty!!!

Oh weird, it got rid of some of my notes??

For the greet.cpp, it’s #include < iostream >

For greet.hpp it’s #include < string >

Look at these links. They might help.

1. Probably for your issue:
    Configure launch.json for C/C++ debugging in Visual Studio Code

2. Complete setup of VS Code for C++:
    Introductory Videos for C++ in Visual Studio Code

3. Or look at this post:
    C++ Project setup VSCode

1 Like

Using these bits of code, it compiles fine for me.

main.cpp

#include "utils/greet.hpp"

using namespace std;

int main() {
    greet("Allan");
    return 0;
}

greet.hpp

#ifndef UTILS_GREET
#define UTILS_GREET

#include <string>

#endif

greet.cpp

#include "greet.hpp"
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

void greet(string name) {
    cout << "Hello " << name;
}