Mastery course: Section 10 lesson 5 About

I am new to Python and I am facing this confusing situation. As we know after rmoving the requests package from global installation I am not able to execute the code

import requests
response = requests.get("http://yahoo.com")
print(response)

and we know according to the lecture that when I run the command
pipenv shell

Ok, so to be able to run it globally without running the above comman I have added the path to python entry in the settings.json file as follows after extracting the full path by another command… see as follows:

"code-runner.executorMap": {

"javascript": "node",
    "java": "cd $dir && javac $fileName && java $fileNameWithoutExt",
    "c": "cd $dir && gcc $fileName -o $fileNameWithoutExt && $dir$fileNameWithoutExt",
    "zig": "zig run",
    "cpp": "cd $dir && g++ $fileName -o $fileNameWithoutExt && $dir$fileNameWithoutExt",
    "objective-c": "cd $dir && gcc -framework Cocoa $fileName -o $fileNameWithoutExt && $dir$fileNameWithoutExt",
    "php": "php",
    //"python": "python -u",
    "python": "/Users/Sarmad Alsaadi/.virtualenvs/mastery_course-fYXotm-6/Scripts/python",
    "perl": "perl",

despite following the instruction in the lecture I am stll getting (requests) not installed but when I run
pipenv shell
it works

I am still not understanding what is the code runner despite I installed the said extension from the VScode.
I am very confused. Please some help.

1 Like

this create env if not created and also activate at the same time;
once you activated env you can import libraries which you have installed in this env using command pipenv install requests
if you work outside of this env then requests module is not be available

Virtual Enviroment

2 Likes