/bin/sh: python: command not found

Hi, I’m a beginner in learning python and just installed vscode in my m1 MacBook Air.
after installing code runner extension and creating a short python print command sample and pressing run code OUTPUT it says " //bin/sh: python: command not found

[Done] exited with code=127 in 0.006 seconds "

HELP PLEASE!!!

Hello SyntaxError, it looks to me like you forgot to install python on your MacBook Air. Here are some generic instructions for installing Python on Mac: 5. Using Python on a Mac — Python 3.10.5 documentation

Alternatively, it is possible that VSCode is looking for the python binary in the wrong place. Here are the instructions for running Python in VSCode: Get Started Tutorial for Python in Visual Studio Code

Hello jmrunkle, i have it installed python 3.10.5 multiple times but I don’t know what’s wrong with it. when I type "python"in my terminal it say’s command not found, but when I type python3 it shows information but nothing happens on vscode output it still says command not found.

1 Like

I got it working installing python 3 using homebrew I don’t know what’s happening just new in using apple Macbook so I don’t know this things . I believe I already installed python 3.10.5 in it which is not working but Homebrew installed python3.9.13 instead. Any idea about this or what is happening?

1 Like

Possibly this:

The system install of Python on macOS is not supported. Instead, an installation through Homebrew is recommended. To install Python using Homebrew on macOS use brew install python3 at the Terminal prompt.

Get Started Tutorial for Python in Visual Studio Code

Thank you jmrunkle.
My VSCode run output is now working!
Now I’m researching how to update the Python 3.9 version that Homebrew installed.

Based on this, it looks like you can use:

brew install python@3.10

Assuming you want it to install 3.10.5 (currently).