Moving an Element (Javascript Basics Course)

Hello All,

I am rather confused with how this code is using the .splice() method to offset an element in an array.

• My understanding of splice method syntax:
    .splice(starting index, element to delete, elements to add);

• My questions:

1. What is the parameter index referencing, and what is [0]:
    const element = output.splice(index,1)[0];

2. What is index + offset?:
    output.splice(index + offset, 0, element);

const numbers = [1,2,3,4];
const output = move(numbers, 0, 2);
console.log(output);

function move(array, index, offset){
const output = […array];
return output;
}

I’m not a pro, but this is what I believe is correct:

Question 1: what is index & what is [0]:

“output” is the given array (in this case [1,2,3,4]);
in which you want to remove a number. (which is specified by the user)
The user can choose the position of this number with the “index” through the method splice.
So the index is refering to the position of the element in the array. If the index was 0, the first element sice arrays are zero based.

We can write the folowing line also as the following two lines:

const removedItem = output.splice(index,1);
const element = removedItem[0];

The first line removes 1 element in the array: output at a specific position (index).

const removedItem = output.splice(index,1) //returns an array

This method returns an array with the removed elements (in this case with only 1 element) We don’t want an array (e.g. [1] or [4]) but only the element stored in the array we can acces this element by [0], because we know it is the first one.

const element = removedItem[0];

Question 2: What is index + offset?

the .splice method doesn’t just remove items, we can also replace or insert elements.
index + offset calculates the new position (index) where you want to insert the specified element.