MongoDB in the Cloud lecture out of date

So I tried creating an mLab account, but the only option I have is to create a MongoDB Atlas account which I did. mLab has been closed since February 2019 and is now apart of MongoDB. How ever It’s way different than what Mosh is using in his lecture.

Does anyone by any chance have a step by step tutorial on how to use MongoDB Atlas? Because I’ve never used it before.

1 Like

MLab add-on for Heroku was recently shut down. However, the good news is, using MongoDB atlas is simple too, and just needs a few additional steps.

1. Create an account on MongoDB Cloud

2. After providing some basic details, you’ll be asked to choose a cluster type. Lets go with Shared Clusters for now, since those are free.

3. On the next screen, you can customize various settings such as cloud provider & region, cluster tier (M0 Sandbox is the only free one and provides 512mb storage) etc. When done, click on Create Cluster.

4. On the navigation bar to the left, click on Database Access, then on Add New Database User.

5. On the modal box that appears, choose Password as the authentication type, type in a new username and password, and select a role for the user. (Note: Role should be atleast Read and Write to any Database or else your app may not function properly)

6. Again, on the navigation bar to the left, click on Network Access, then on Add IP Address.

7. On the modal box that appears, click on Allow access from anywhere. (Note: For production apps, you should restrict the IP list)

8. Return to the Clusters tab, click on connect, choose MongoDB compass, select v1.11 or earlier, and copy the connection string displayed.

9. Copy the connection string as shown.
    a. You can paste the connection string into MongoDB compass to directly access and modify the online databse.