Javascript Array & If statements

Folks,
This is my first time here. I am taking Mosh’s javascript class and getting extremely confused by something that seemed very simple. Any clarification will be very well appreciated.

I have two codes (which I believe are the same) that produce different results.

------Code 1------
const numbers =[1,2,3,4,5,6];
console.log (includes(numbers,5));

function includes (array, searchElement){
for (key of array)
if (key === searchElement) return true;
return false;
};
====> Console output is “true”

----Code 2----

function includes (array, searchElement){
for (key of array)
if (key === searchElement) return true;
else return false;
};
=====> Console output is " false"

Note that the only difference between code 1 and code 2 is the presence of “else” under the if statement.

Again, if this is simple for you guys, please bear with me. I have tried very hard to understand the logic but it is still escaping me. Any help will the greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
DMC.

So question: is what are you doing, what do you want to achieve? So you probably accidentally discovered ‘break’ option in Javascript. When you return something at this moment it breaks out of the loop. So in case one it loops through all elements until it reaches key-value 5 and than returns true and breaks out of the loop. It never reaches false
Second, it jumps out immediately because in the first loop it reaches return False. Hope I described clear.
You can check it by yourself with printing key values in each iteration.

I think I got it.
The learning continues.
Thanks!

To expand on @Gintsm’s response… This is not really a problem of a “break” operation but rather this is pure misuse of syntax which some better coding habits and formatting would have avoided completely.

So, to explain a little BOTH for and if process exactly ONE statement if the condition is truthy. Note that an if...else is a single statement as far as the compiler is concerned.